‘She’s so pretty’.

Who even needs a daughter when your boys get mistaken for girls every time you leave the house?

Every single day I consider chopping their hair off. Some days I don’t think I can bare one more person telling me ‘she’s so pretty’.

‘I love her hair’, ‘look at her curls’, ‘she has beautiful eyes’ are just a few of the comments I get from strangers. Every. Single. Day.

Most days now I just roll with it because I am so sick of constantly correcting people. Is that bad? Is it wrong of me to let 7 strangers believe my BOY is a girl for a whole 30 seconds as we pass them? I mean, obviously I would correct someone if they were spending time with them, but a total stranger.. You know the ones that stop you at the shops just to comment on your children? Do they really matter?

You may be thinking ‘why don’t you just cut it? Give them a ‘real boys’ haircut’. And don’t worry, you’re not the first person to say it but holy dooly when it really comes down to it, it is one the hardest things I have ever had to do. But I’m starting to wonder where we draw the line. How long are we going to let it grow?

On Monday at daycare, Ollie spent the entire day playing with a girl. Finally, he had made a proper friend! I stood there watching them play for a good 10 minutes before letting him know I was there and it was the sweetest thing I had ever seen. They were jumping into each other’s arms and cuddling and rolling around the floor giggling. I asked the little girl what her name was and she told me. I then said ‘do you know his name?’ And she looked at me, confused. As if to say ‘he??’… Like she thought she’d been playing with another girl the whole time.

Ollie doesn’t understand why people confuse him for a girl. He assures me that he doesn’t have girl hair. He’s a boy.. “So it must be boy hair”. But I’m starting to notice him getting frustrated when people assume he’s a girl.

I think about chopping it A LOT. I wonder if it would be the best thing to do, for all of us. Some people have even called me selfish for letting it grow. But am I really?

When I ask Ollie if he wants a hair cut (without any coaxing at all), he tells me ‘no way, never EVER!’ So how could I even try to win that argument?

A few days ago I had almost talked myself into taking him to get it cut. I posted on Instagram expecting everyone to say DON’T DO IT and well, I didn’t really get the response I was hoping for. A lot of good points were made though and everyone is right, it is just hair but it’s my baby boys hair.. That beautiful hair. Of course it will grow back but I just don’t know if I’m ready to say goodbye.

The way I see it is that when he is ready and comes to me saying ‘mummy, I want my hair cut’, then I will chuck him straight in the car and take him to chop it all off. But until that day, he can grow his hair as long as his little heart desires.

 

sign off

Leave a Reply

